A Three-legged Dog…

Friends, a three-legged dog won the Puppy Bowl!!!  The world IS trying to heal all of the awfulness that’s going on!!!!

Last night I went to a speakeasy style bar instead of watching the Super Bowl which at first felt way weird.  I can’t remember a time that I didn’t at least attempt to watch the Super Bowl because it’s “the thing” that us Americans do.  Skip school, yes.  Skip work, defs.  But skip the Super Bowl????  Are you going to also refuse Christmas presents, you monster?!

However, I really enjoyed not watching a game I care nothing about.  I know that sounds silly, but it was like, “Oh yeah…I don’t have to do what everyone else is doing.  I can make my own decisions.”  For someone who struggles with feeling like I “fit in,” it was refreshing to know that unconventional choices are also ok…because it was my choice.

“My bar, my choice!” I shouted over the Otis Redding music.

What also made the evening pleasant was a little mix-up I witnessed before entering the bar.  Again, it’s a speakeasy-themed bar, so the front is a facade to look like a hardware store.  As I was approaching, a Muslim woman walking in front of me opens the door to the bar.  Behind the door was this huge bouncer which slightly startled the women.  The following conversation then took place…

Woman: Uh, can I come in?

Bouncer: Of course!

Woman: Ok, good.  I need a hammer, wood glue…

Bouncer: (smiles) Uh, this is actually a bar.  This front is just to make it seem a speakeasy during the prohibition era.

Woman: It’s a bar?!?!!?

And then the woman, the bouncer and I all shared a big belly laugh because clearly her mind was blown.

It was nice because three of the most diverse characters shared a lovely little moment.  See?  You don’t need to drink to have fun!!!

Hoping loads of lovely moments happen to you today!!!

img_7359
Lucky at the Speakeasy
Leave a Reply

