Tit for tat…

PREFACE
I just want you to know that I get it.  I totally get it.  So when you read the rest of this post and think, “What a brat!” I 100%, totally encompassingly get it.  I get it so much that I made up the word “encompassingly.”
RANT
The Edinburgh Fringe Festival is the largest arts festival in the world, yet the organizers really need to rename it to “The Largest Real Estate Rip Off Since the Louisiana Purchase.”
For those of you unfamiliar, every August the city of Edinburgh, Scotland hosts an arts festival that includes basically every form of art you can imagine: comedy, theatre, music, dance, spoken word…even vomit painting (though most of that is improvisational).  So what happens is thousands of artists and punters fill the town, swelling it like a tick.  And to be honest, that’s what we artists are.  We are ticks trying to get fed by sucking the resources out of the city via venues and citizens of Edinburgh.  To get back at all of us ticks, the residents of Edinburgh charge extortionate rent prices for rooms and apartments.  For example an apartment (or “flat” as they’d say) that normally rents for £600 for the month will be scooped up at a rate of £3000 for the month.  I mean every bit of “scooped up” because everyone is so desperate just to find a place to live that someone will happily pay the mark-up.
From an artist’s perspective all we want to do is our art.  We very simply want to further our careers by showcasing the art that we’ve been working on all year.  There’s nothing better than having a great show to a full room where people are taking selfies with you on the way out, and for that feeling we agree to pay ridiculous rent prices knowing full well that we’re being had by the Big Bad Wolf and all his friends.
I know…I’m clearly not the first person to complain about this, but right now I’m healing me…
Budgeting for the month of August takes some planning.  I used to be really bad at budgeting until I started viewing my bank account in pictures, not numbers.  Does that make sense?  Like right now my bank account is one week of groceries and one month of NYC rent.  I adopted this practice when I was doing food delivery because it was very easy to see/feel how $10 goes into your bank account when you physically hand someone a pizza box.  I quit buying stuff I didn’t need because that shirt was not worth six sandwich deliveries.
Pictures…not numbers.
balance
There’s no happy ending to this saga, and it will continue to get worse.  My desire to perform will never diminish and neither will the slighted residents’ desire for monetary compensation.
Tit for tat as they say…
Leave a Reply

